header bg

Scan QR code or get instant email to install app


Which base is NOT found in DNA?

A Uracil.

The information in DNA is stored as four nucleotides: adenine (A), guanine (G), cytosine (C), and thymine (T). The nucleotides adenine and guanine are classified as purines, while thymine and cytosine are classified as pyrimidines. Purines contain 2 carbon nitrogen ring bases and pyrimidines contain 1 carbon nitrogen base. These nucleotides can be easily remembered with the mnemonic, ‘GCAT PuPy PuPy,’ where ‘G’ and ‘A’ match up with ‘Pu’ (purine) and ‘C’ and ‘T’ match up with ‘Py’ (pyrimidine). RNA replaces thymine with uracil (U) and can be recalled as ‘GCAU PuPy PuPy.’

Related Information



4 years ago

I think this is a good app to use to review for the ATI TEAS.


4 years ago

I feel confident that adding this app to my studying regimen will enable me to score well on the TEAS.


4 years ago

This app is great practice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *